The picture within

In my web wanderings last week, I came across this article which talked about the virtues of using the “Tonal Contrast” filter in Nik Color Efex Pro.

I used this newfound knowledge yesterday on this shot of a small waterfall near my office, taken from underneath my umbrella while walking through the pouring rain.

Tower Road Waterfall

The enhanced version

As part of this experiment, I also used the “Detail Extractor” filter. Each of the filters made a significant difference; used together, they provide rich, colorful detail.

For comparison, here’s the original:

The "before" image

The “before” image

My guess is that some people might prefer the unprocessed “before” look. I kind of like the Thomas Kinkade look, personally – at least for this kind of shot.

I was already a big fan of the Nik collection – this just gave me one more reason to love it.

 

Leave a Reply

