Black and White

It’s been a while since I participated in any photo blog challenges, but how could I skip Scott’s challenge for March – “Black and White”?

I’ve been having a hard time choosing between two sets of B&W shots to share here, so I’ll just include both.

Subject 1: I’m so ready for spring to arrive, that I created my own personal spring by buying a bunch of white tulips. One of them wasn’t happy when the water got low in the vase:

Droopy tulip

😦

I filled up the vase, and by the next evening, all of the tulips had recovered except one (the “Watch-Tulip”):

The Watch-Tulip

The Watch-Tulip

Subject 2: I’ve found that glass is a great subject for black and white. I took this first shot while walking through an area that was being prepped for a pre-dinner reception; the bartender was lining up the glasses just so. He didn’t even bat an eyelash when I asked if I could take a picture of the glasses!:

Glasses

Glasses

My second black-and-white featuring glass was taken at an antique store in Corning, NY. I was captivated by the milk bottles, and found that the color in the background distracted from the light that they captured:

Milk Bottles

Milk Bottles

All of these shots were originally taken in color, then processed in Lightroom and Nik Silver Efex Pro.

Thanks for the opportunity, Scott!

9 comments

  1. Pingback: Assignment 24: Recap | Views Infinitum


Leave a Reply

