Dramatically gray

I mentioned a few weeks ago that I would be taking a class, “Absence of Color”,  from Roberto Ojeda over at Shuttercal. Now that the class is almost done, I thought I’d share some of the results.

The final assignment was to take pictures of 2 items that your locality is known for, and then apply the techniques learned in class. The techniques built upon one another, although there’s no reason they couldn’t be used independently.

I don’t think it would be fair to Roberto or Shuttercal for me to share exactly what the techniques were; suffice it to say that there were lots of Photoshop layers involved!

So, here’s the original picture, taken around noon with my (new!) Canon S100:

Uris Tower 1

Uris Tower, color version

Just changing it to grayscale results in this:

Uris Tower in grayscale

Just plain grayscale

A few layers and techniques applied later, it becomes this:

Uris Tower

Gussied up for presentation

And finally, here it is with some texture applied. The textured version may not have widespread appeal, but I kind of like it:

Uris Tower

Uris Tower

Pretty dramatic change, eh?

2 comments


Leave a Reply

