Falling Water

The motto of my town is “Ithaca is Gorges”, and with good reason: there are gorges and waterfalls everywhere in Tompkins County and throughout the Finger Lakes region of New York State. I have struggled to get good pictures of these beautiful areas, and comparing my shots to those of local photog friends Andy Wheeler, Adam Baker, Chris Kitchen, and Deb Littlejohn adds to my insecurity.

But I’ve had a few minor successes, and I’d like to share a little bit of the local landscape with my online friends, so here’s a sampling:

Jumping for Joy

Taken in July 2011 at Treman State Park, as part of a “showing scale” challenge

Fishing at Ithaca Falls

Fishing at Ithaca Falls, April 2012

Rainbow Falls

Rainbow Falls, Watkins Glen – taken on Andy’s photo walk in June this year

Cascadilla

Cascadilla Glen in Ithaca

I expect to stick around here for awhile, and the gorges aren’t going anywhere soon… so no doubt there will be more gorge and waterfall pictures in this blog’s future.

There’s one more picture that I didn’t include on this page. I’ve waffled about whether to post it or not. The activity it depicts is dangerous and illegal, and the photo is not of the highest quality, but it represents another aspect of the gorges.

4 comments


Leave a Reply

