Photowalk at the Glen

This past Sunday, I participated in a photowalk at Watkins Glen sponsored by Andy Wheeler. I had wavered back and forth about going for several days ahead of time… it was 45 minutes away, at 7:30 in the morning, on a day where I had obligations later in the afternoon. But all of those excuses seemed pretty lame – so off I went. Good choice.

I think there were about 30 or 40 participants, including several people I knew: Debbie from Ithaca, Scott from Syracuse, and Ardie, Steve, and Michael from the Southern Tier / Finger Lakes photography crew. And while I had corresponded with host Andy online, this was the first time we had actually met in person. It was fun getting to chat with him and hearing some of his stories.

I’ve learned from this photowalk and other group photography experiences that they’re not ideal situations for creating the best pictures. But there’s always plenty to be learned from the others, and it’s a real pleasure to spend time with such genuinely nice and helpful people. Thanks for putting this together, Andy, and I look forward to future events!

Watkins Glen

I’d love to go back and take this with a slower shutter speed

Looking up

Looking up

 

The Master at Work

The master at work

Smile!

I’m not sure who these people are, but I think they may be posing for a Pepsodent ad

3 comments

  1. Pingback: Watkins Glen Photowalk « My Life in CNY


Leave a Reply

