Camera settings

Earlier this week, I came across a blog post that I wish I had seen when I got my Rebel XS a year and a half ago. It talks about 3 camera simulators that allow you to see what happens when you adjust aperture, shutter speed, and ISO (and in some cases lighting, focal length, and distance): CameraSim, Camera Simulator, and The Sim Cam. CameraSim is my favorite because you can change all of the settings on the same screen and see what happens to the sample picture.

I bring this up because the topic of settings has come up in a few different conversations I’ve had with friends this week; I mentioned the simulators to my friends and promised to put them in a blog entry. Here you go! Hope they’re useful! I blogged about settings last year, but of course the simulators do a far better job than a bunch of words.

In one case, the subject came up while I was at Stony Brook State Park, taking this picture that I’ve since put through a little HDR processing:

Stony Brook

Stony Brook

Understanding the settings is one thing;  knowing where to adjust them on your camera is another.  That’s something I’m still working on.

 

 

 

4 comments


Leave a Reply

