The next step

There were lots of new product announcements this past week. The big one, of course, was the iPad 3; and in software, Adobe Lightroom 4 was released. But the announcement that was most important to me was for the new Canon 5D Mark III DSLR. Last week, having met all my photography goals for the year, I decided to celebrate by upgrading to a new camera body. At $3500, the 5D Mark III wasn’t really an option for me, but its announcement meant a lower price tag for the 5D Mark II.

So my new 5D Mark II arrived on Thursday. A combination of lousy weather and hockey playoffs meant that I wasn’t really able to spend quality time with it until yesterday, but now that I’ve used it for two full days, I can honestly say: Wow!

After I showed hubby my first few shots, he asked – so what can you do with this camera that you can’t do with the old one?

Well.

It allows me to shoot in low-light situations with very little noise (graininess):

Light fixture

Modern lighting in Sage Chapel

… and it lets me shoot much wider landscapes than the old camera.

Sunset

... all I need now is a good sunset to take a picture of.

It allows a very shallow depth of field. In this case, the background of light-colored stones disappeared altogether.

Photographic sumi-e

Photographic sumi-e

Finally, it allows me to make significant crops – and the resulting image is still bigger than the full sized pictures from my old camera. This means that I can create nice big prints.

Hubby assures me that he’s really pleased about the new purchase. And to him, I promise: it’s the last camera body I’ll buy for a very, very long time.

(Here’s the techy part… feel free to ignore!)

I waffled for a long time between the 7D and the 5D Mark II. The virtues of the 7D include: fast and accurate autofocus (with 19 autofocus points!) and the ability to record 8 frames per second. Oh, and the ability to use all of my existing lenses.Β  On the other hand, the 5D Mark II, besides having magnificent image quality, is the better camera when it comes to low light situations (although it only has 9 autofocus points – people complain about the focus being slow – and it records 3.9 FPS.)

In the end, I realized that high quality output and low light shooting were more important to me. That made the decision an easy one.

6 comments

  1. Congrats! Wonderful shots. In time, as you practice, you will achieve more and more shots requiring no cropping at all. I crop maybe 1% of my shots. Saves me lots of time in post. πŸ™‚

  2. Congratulations Barbara. Wonderful photos. Thank you for sharing your thought process on choosing a camera body and your new photos. Sandy

  3. Now you can sell your cropped lenses and get full frame ones (you did not say anything about buying lenses. πŸ˜‰ ). Congrats and enjoy the new gear. You are already a fantastic photographer. The new tool will open up new avenues for your talent to grow.

    • You caught me! Shhhh. Thanks so much for the kind words. I’m actually holding on to the old camera for a little bit, so that I can continue to use the 60mm macro on it. But no doubt I’ll be willing to give it up soon enough.


Leave a Reply

