365 – Check!

365

Check one more off the New Year’s Resolution list. I completed my 365 today.

Yep. 365. One picture each day for the past year.

Why the end of February, you ask? Isn’t that kind of random?

Well, yes, it IS random. Last year on February 28, I happened to read about the site shuttercal.com. I went ahead and set up a free account, and loaded a picture. And the next day, it wasn’t so hard to upload another picture. Etc., etc., etc.

Over the course of the year, there a few days where I got to the end of the day and thought – shoot! I need to take a picture! … and plenty of days where I wasn’t excited about any of the pictures I’d taken. And just last week, I thought I missed a day, but then realized when I loaded my SD card that I had captured the early morning fog surrounding the buildings outside my hotel window in downtown Austin.

It wasn’t as hard as I expected it to be. In fact, once I got a couple of weeks in, it was pretty easy. Many of the pictures were taken on my way to and from the car at work, or during a lunchtime walk, or just of random stuff at home.

Most importantly, I can look back at 365 days, and remember a moment from each one.

The proof is at http://shuttercal.com/calendar/barbarat – here’s a little sample, below (representing most of October):

October Calendar

Of course, I have to go at least one more day, since this is a leap year. And at that point, I might as well continue indefinitely.

(P.S. One more resolution to go. It’s actually a done deal, but will be official later this week.)

3 comments


Leave a Reply

