Triangles, snow, and band-aids

This morning – for the first time in ages – I found myself with a full day ahead, and no responsibilities other than to take photos for this week’s theme of “triangles” (for the Creatively Challenged Flickr group.) The fact that I waited until the last day of the challenge was both a blessing and a curse: I was able to see all of the pictures that others took, but that made it hard to come up with anything original.

So I asked my brilliant and resourceful hubby, who suggested that I drive 45 minutes to the tiny hamlet of Triangle, NY to get a picture of the sign. That’s pretty much all there is to take photographs of out there, but it’s a pretty drive.

Triangle

Triangle

Having all this free time meant that I was able to stop to take pictures of anything that looked interesting. What luxury! I took several shots that could only be interesting to me, so I won’t bore you with them here. (That’s code for: they’re now digital dust.)

As I drove along some back roads high in the hills, I was suddenly caught in a snowstorm. In the past, pre-camera, I would have thought: “I must get home before I drive off the road and kill myself!”… but instead, a little voice inside my head screamed “photo op!”.

So I pulled over and took some shots of the snowy field. (Please note: I chose to shoot the side of the road away from the wind!)

Snowy field

Snowy field

Driving back down out of the hills, I happened to spot an apple tree that still had several apples attached to it. In the first few shots I took, the apple came out too dark because the camera was trying to compensate for the white snow and the light gray sky… so I used the camera flash for some fill light.

The problem with this choice was that some of the water drops on the apple – from the melting snow – ended up being overexposed.

Apple with spots

Spotty

Apple without spots

Spotless

I didn’t even notice the problem until I cropped the picture, and then it seemed glaringly obvious. To fix the problem, I used the “spot healing brush tool” in Photoshop… the one that has a band-aid icon in the toolbar. From the application help:

The Spot Healing Brush tool quickly removes blemishes and other imperfections in your photos. The Spot Healing Brush works similarly to the Healing Brush: it paints with sampled pixels from an image or pattern and matches the texture, lighting, transparency, and shading of the sampled pixels to the pixels being healed.

The resulting shot looks like this:

Apple on snowy branch

They say the apple doesn't fall far from the tree. This apple didn't fall, period.

There was no snow on the ground when I got home… and that’s quite alright. I got a triangle picture… and some snow and an apple, too.

One comment


Leave a Reply

