Sunshine and shadows

Now that winter has finally arrived – a few months late – outdoor photography has become a little more challenging. Shorter days and grayer skies are not the stuff that ignites the aspiring photographer’s soul.

Last year, it it was the bi-weekly challenges in the “EOS Projects” flickr group that gave me photographic purpose through the long winter months. Alas, the owner of that group closed its shutters in November. After an extensive search, though, I found another group – “Creatively Challenged” – which I joined a few weeks ago, I think during its first week of existence.  This time around, the challenges are posted weekly.

So today, during our brief interlude of sunshine, I went outside with 3 goals in mind: 1) find a shot for this week’s Creatively Challenged assignment, “Shadows”; 2) take a picture of Sackett’s Bridge to compare to the snowy one I took last week; and 3) take pictures of people sledding in the snow that fell this morning.

I managed to accomplish two of these; the 3rd will have to wait until I actually find some sledders. (Note: goals 2 and 3 were self-inflicted.)

Goal 1: Take a picture to fit the assignment of “Shadow”.

Snow Shadow

Snow Shadow

Sackett's Bridge

Snowy Bridge

Goal 2: Take a picture of Sackett’s Bridge during sunny / snowy weather, to compare to last week’s snowy photo. What struck me most in comparing the two was that in last week’s, the bridge and the water are the darkest things in the picture; in this week’s, they’re the brightest. Also, now you can see the little white house beyond the bridge.

Sackett's Bridge

Sackett's Bridge

Goal 3: Missed this one. There were sled marks on the hill that I visited, but the sledders were gone… so here’s one that I took last year.

Sledding

Airborne! February, 2011

Of note this week:
I signed up for Kent Weakly’s online composition class which began yesterday.  I have high hopes for this class – besides being very friendly, Kent seems to pay a lot of attention to his students’ work. I’ve promised him that in blogging about his class, I won’t give away any of the material that he’s worked hard to create, but I believe it’s fair game to say this: it bodes well that the first topic is a discussion of the question, “what is good composition?”.  Seems like I just asked that same question in this blog a couple weeks ago.

One comment


Leave a Reply

