All about dewdrops

Mountain Dew

Mountain Dew

It’s a shot I’ve shared here before, and it will probably always be one of my favorites. It was taken at Jackson Hole, and if you look carefully, you can see the Tetons in the distance.

On occasion since then, I’ve tried to re-capture the dewdrop magic, but with little success. Last week I came across an amazing photo here that renewed my interest. The photographer went out of his way to set up the shot, using a prop flower and a type of tripod that I don’t own. Maybe at some point I’ll move in to that type of setup, but for now I’m going for low-budget handheld shots.

So here are a few of my more recent dewdrop shots:

Floral Raindrop

This one is actually a raindrop

Pine Tree Dewdrop

Morning pine trees

McGraw Dewdrop

One of thousands of reflections of McGraw Tower

…and here’s what I’ve learned doing these so far:

  • If the dewdrop picture includes sky, an intense blue sky makes an enormous difference
  • Getting down below the dewdrop shows more of the subject and less of the grass below the dewdrop
  • If possible, shoot with the sun behind you
  • Learned from the shot containing flowers: my plan is to use off-camera flash next time I try this, to try to avoid that big washed-out spot in the middle. Using the flash allows greater depth of field, important for close subjects.
6 comments


Leave a Reply

