It’s good to get out again

July was a tough month. Between the heat and some travel, I just didn’t take the time to focus on photography. It turns out that I’m not the only one that had photography ennui – Prantik, who started blogging about the same time I did and for the same reasons I did, blogged about it today as well.

Queen Anne's Lace

Queen Anne's Lace, before it's opened

In between rainstorms today, though, I managed to get out for a little while – and rediscovered the magic that makes time fly by when I’m looking at life through a lens. Never mind that I got soaked when a passing car splashed me while I was trying to photograph a rainbow; that mosquitoes bit me while I was trying to capture a close-up of goldenrod; that my legs were scratched when I walked into the brush to get a macro of a raindrop; and that none of those shots came out how I would like. I was outside, seeing things I normally ignore, noticing that that forests had been grown over (as opposed to overgrown) while I wasn’t looking. The baby herons have fledged, the pond at the Lab of O has become clogged with water lilies, and now there are new things to see.

None of the shots that I took today will rank among my favorites, but it was sure good to get out again.

Deer eating leaves

Mmmm, Tasty!

One comment


Leave a Reply

