Oh Deer!

Back in November, I started this blog with the intention to write about everything I was learning about using the new DSLR camera that I had just bought. The stuff I wrote was meant to be both reference for me (so I could try to avoid making the same mistakes multiple times) and, possibly, for other newbies who might run across the blog.

Well, I must have known at the time that there would be some dry patches… weeks where I would still practice, but not necessarily learn anything new.  I didn’t really think about how I would keep the blog going during those times.

Well, as you guessed, I’m in one of those patches. I’ve been taking photos daily – I carry the S90 (pocket-sized) around with me when I don’t have the DSLR – no slacker, me. But I haven’t had any great aha moments, and I don’t want anyone to think that I’ve abandoned the blog. So, I’ll write a little about what I’ve been shooting instead.

I’ve been shooting deer.

It started on March 2. As I was driving home from work, I saw some deer in someone’s front yard. I had the S90 in my pocket, so I pulled over to the side of the road, put the car in park (!), opened the window, and took a few shots. When I got home, I posted one of the pictures on Facebook, and got some nice comments. (“So pretty!” “That is cool!” etc.)

March 3, also on my way home from work: there’s a deer in my neighbor’s front yard. Took the shots, posted to Facebook, got some more nice comments. (“Beautiful!” “Do I see Bambi?” etc.)

March 4: again on the way home from work, more deer next door. Posted to Facebook, only one comment. Even I start to realize that the deer photos on Facebook are getting kind of stale, but I start to wonder: how many days in a row can I get deer photos? So I started an album on Picasaweb, and started the daily deer photos.

Other than Sunday, March 6, when we had a foot of snow (the deer may have been out that day, but I certainly wasn’t!), I managed to get deer photos every day for 2 weeks. I’ve gone 2 days now without them, so I’m afraid the fun is over. At least I have a chronicle, though! The album can be found here: https://picasaweb.google.com/cubtf5/Deer#. My favorite one of the group is this one:

Deer in my backyard, March 9

Leave a Reply

